The Driving Force

What is your no.1 reason for changing your morning routine?

More time to myself

Better productivity

More effective in my business

Generate more income

Find a sense of purpose

To fulfill my potential

(These are what came to my mind but I’m sure there are many more possibilities.)

For me it’s to fulfill potential. To allow this flower called Esther to express the full capacity that is present in the seed for flowering, fragrance and beauty

Why did you pick that one?

I feel a sense of urgency about being able to fulfill my potential. I feel like I’m not reaching my potential in the way that I have been doing things recently.

It’s like when growing a flower there is a joy in seeing the bloom, a natural desire to support the plant to make the most of it’s resources. It would be a shame to stunt the plant through inattention or lack of care. There is a desire to nurture.

Why is that important?

It feels like carelessness to let potential go to waste. Turning my back. Ignoring. Heartless. Stingy. I don’t want to regret not making the most of my potential. Looking back at the end of my life and seeing that so much more was possible but due to a lack on my part that possibility was never realised. That I had that responsibility but choose not to embody it.

What are the consequences of not changing your morning routine?

My potential going to waste. A lack of contribution to the whole. Regret at the end of my life. Dissatisfaction at the end of my life.

No time for reflection, for prioritising, for planning. Each day feels so full on and constantly demanding attention with home ed of 3 kids and husband working from home. No space to make a difference in my life just day to day grind. Things not changing. The house never getting organised. The kids not getting a wider range of activities. Not being able to fix the car. Not sure if we’ll be able to move to a different area that we’d like to.

What worries you about that?

Feels hopeless. Can’t see how else it would change. There’s too many things to fix. Don’t know what order to address them in.

So now there is clarity on why it’s important to change the morning routine and the consequences of not doing so.

It gives me time for reflection, planning and prioritising so that I don’t look back on my life with regret. I don’t want to be shown things that could have been but weren’t due to my own lack of taking responsibility for the flowering of potential. I will use the answers to these questions to make my bedtime affirmation and visualisation.

I would love to hear if you find a way to use these 5 questions to help you take action and make a change in your life too. I found them in the book Questions Are The Answers by Allan Pease.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑